You are currently viewing EBU Confirms Participating Broadcasters: 37 Countries for Eurovision 2024

The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) has today confirmed 37 countries will participate in ESC 2024.

37 Participating Countries

The 68th Eurovision Song Contest will be held on 11 May 2024 in Malmö, Sweden after Loreen’s triumphant victory in Liverpool earlier this year.

Today, in a much-anticipated press release, the EBU confirmed the number of countries participating in the 2024 contest will be 37. This equals the same number of countries that participated in Liverpool in 2023.

The list of competing countries has been approved by the Reference Group of the EBU.

Luxembourg Returns

Notably, Luxembourg returns to the contest after a 31 year break having last competed in 1993.

Australia also returns having been granted approval from SVT (Sveriges Television) as an EBU Associate member to participate in the 2024 contest.

Romania participated in Liverpool in 2023 but is absent from the list of participating countries released today by the EBU. It is understood that broadcaster TVR is continuing to hold talks with the EBU regarding participation in the 2024 contest so it is possible we may see the number of countries rise to 38 at a later date.

Bulgaria, Montenegro and North Macedonia continue their absence from the contest.

The following chart shows the number of participating countries each year since the introduction of the semi finals in 2004.

The highest number of countries ever to participate in a Eurovision Song Contest is 43. We first saw this in 2008 when the contest was held in Belgrade, Serbia. The record was equalled again in 2018 in Lisbon, Portugal.

A full list of competing broadcasters is shown below:

Albania (RTSH)
Armenia (AMPTV)
Australia (SBS)*
Austria (ORF)
Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV)
Belgium (RTBF)
Croatia (HRT)
Cyprus (CyBC)
Czechia (CT)
Denmark (DR)
Estonia (ERR)
Finland (YLE)
France (FT)
Germany (ARD/NDR)
Georgia (GPB)
Greece (ERT)
Iceland (RUV)
Ireland (RTE)
Israel (KAN)
Italy (RAI)
Latvia (LTV)
Lithuania (LRT)
Luxembourg (RTL)
Malta (PBS)
Moldova (TRM)
Netherlands (AVROTROS)
Norway (NRK)
Poland (TVP)
Portugal (RTP)
San Marino (RTV)
Serbia (RTS)
Slovenia (RTVSLO)
Spain (RTVE)
Sweden (SVT)
Switzerland (SRG SSR)
Ukraine (Suspilne Ukraine)
United Kingdom (BBC)

 *EBU Associate Member

Who are you most looking forward to seeing on the Eurovision stage in Malmö? Let us know in the comments!

Leave a Reply